Venturing Into New Music Territory

This weekend I went to the Brooklyn Bowl to check out a band I saw in New Orleans back in 2015: Naughty Professor. They’re a great jazzy/funky group of musicians and is pretty in-line with the style of music I’ve been listening to the past couple of years. However, this time they were playing alongside Chali 2Na, who was a member of Jurassic 5. Rap is a whole genre of music I never tried listening to and I honestly didn’t know what to expect with this show (other than Naughty Professor killing it on stage).

Pitchblak Brass Band opened the night up. I love these big brass bands, but this one wasn’t like any I’ve seen before. They mixed different styles of jazz, rock, and rap into one great show. It was the perfect opener for Naughty Professor and Chali 2Na. The whole night was great and has opened up some new musical avenues for me to check out.

Leave a Reply

